City Of Gaithersburg Election Results [2021]

Jud Ashman re-elected Gaithersburg mayor; Lisa E. Henderson & Jim McNulty elected to City Council

The Unofficial City of Gaithersburg election results.

Incumbent Gaithersburg Mayor Jud Ashman was re-elected.

Lisa E. Henderson and Jim McNulty were elected to the Gaithersburg City Council.

Gaithersburg elections are non-partisan.

Unofficial City of Gaithersburg Election Results [2021]

Gaithersburg Mayor 

Jud Ashman

3,650 votes (81.42%)

Stephen Escobar

833 votes (18.58%)

Gaithersburg City Council 

 Lisa Henderson

2,632 votes (30.73%)

Henderson “leads the development of new technologies for the criminal justice agencies of Montgomery County,” her website says.

“At the height of the COVID-19 pandemic, I led the technical teams in creating Montgomery County’s COVID-19 testing and vaccination registration system.”

The “technical teams identified Gaithersburg as a COVID-19 hotspot, Henderson said, “requiring targeted interventions like mobile testing facilities and other wrap-around services through data collection.

Jim McNulty

2,159 votes (25.21%)

When sworn in, McNulty will become the only member of the Gaithersburg City Council who lives east of I-270.

McNulty’s website says he organized and moderated the first community information session about the new elementary school at Kelley Park.

And he previously led the push to pressure the Maryland State Highway Administration to complete intersection improvements at Midcounty Highway and Woodfield Road/Saybrooke Oaks Blvd.

Yamil Hernández

1,777 votes (20.75%)

Dave Belgard

1,274 votes (14.87%)

Philip Cook

723 votes (8.44%).

Unofficial City of Gaithersburg Election Totals [2021]

  • 4,557 total ballots were cast this election cycle;
  • 2,946 ballots were cast by mail-in ballot;
  • 1,611 City residents voted at the polls.

There are 36,592 registered voters in the City of Gaithersburg.

Preliminary voter turnout stands at 12.45%.

Voter turnout in the 2019 City of Gaithersburg election for three City Council members was 6.54%.

*These numbers are drawn from the City of Gaithersburg’s website.*

2021 Gaithersburg mayoral and city council candidates

When Will The 2021 Gaithersburg mayor and City Council Winners Be Sworn-In? 

The Gaithersburg Board of Supervisors of Elections will certify the 2021 election results on Monday, Nov. 15, 2021, at 7:30 p.m.

Each official will serve a four-year term.

Gaithersburg City Councilmembers Laurie-Anne Sayles and Michael Sesma did not seek re-election.

Sayles announced in June that she’s running for a Montgomery County Council at-large seat in 2022.

Gaithersburg’s Hybrid Voting System

This year, Gaithersburg used a hybrid voting system that allowed mail-in balloting, early voting, and Election Day voting.

The City’s mail-in ballot applications were mailed to all registered voters the week of Aug. 30 and were available at Gaithersburg City Hall.

Early voting this year took place at the Activity Center at Bohrer Park on Oct. 23 & 24.

Gaithersburg offers same-day voter registration, which is available on Election Day and during the early-voting sessions.

City residents registered to vote in Montgomery County were automatically registered to vote.

Gaithersburg’s 2019 City Council Election Results 

The Board of Supervisors certified Neil Harris, Ryan Spiegel & Robert Wu as the winners of the 2019 city council race on Nov. 19, 2019

Harris, Spiegel, and Wu are serving four-year terms.

Voter turnout in 2019 stood at 6.54%.

  • Robert Wu placed first with 2,021 (84.63%) votes;
  • Neil Harris was second with 1,672 (70.02%) votes;
  • Ryan Spiegel placed third with 1,658 (69.43%).

Spiegel, a Stanford-educated practicing attorney, is considering a bid for Maryland attorney general in 2022.

He’s a partner with the law firm Thomas Hine LLP.

About A Miner Detail 

Ryan Miner is the Editor, Founder, and Publisher of A Miner Detail, a Maryland politics and news blog featuring Maryland Maryland political news and opinion.


Follow Ryan on Twitter@RyanRMiner.